What is an ETIAS Visa & When is it Required

The EU has postponed European Travel Information & Authorization System (ETIAS) visa requirements for US passport holders until 2025. 

Originally slated to be required in 2024, ETIAS is an electronic travel authorization linked to your passport. It allows short-term entry into European countries up to 90 days within a 180-day period. The purpose is to enhance border security and streamline travel procedures.

With ETIAS, the EU intends to maintain open borders for legitimate travelers and protect its citizens and visitors.

The new system requires citizens of 60 countries, including the United States, originally visa-exempt to obtain online authorization.

How to Apply

The system involves a quick online form. Questions such as your name, address, current occupation, past travel to conflict zones, criminal record, as well as your travel plans will be necessary. Applications should be approved within one hour. 

The visa will give approval to enter the Schengen Area in Europe. These include popular countries such as Italy, Spain, France, Germany, Greece and more. Click here for a complete list of participating countries.

Visa eligibility requirements include:

• A valid machine readable e-passport. The e-passport contains an electronic chip that holds the same information printed on your passport data page.

• The purpose of your visit. The visa allows tourism, business, transit, and short-term medical stays.

• Your age. Those under the age of 18 or over the age of 70 receive their ETAIS free of charge. Others will pay 7 euros for a three-year permit. 

Although immediate action is not required, if you’d like to get a jump on your application for an upcoming trip, click here.

Related Posts:

What is TSA Precheck and How do You Apply.


Leave a Reply